The Rt. Rev. Stanley Ntagali Elected 8th Archbishop of the Church of Uganda

The Rt. Rev. Stanley Ntagali Elected 8th Archbishop of the Church of Uganda

(Photo: Archbishop Henry Orombi & Archbishop Designate Stanley Ntagali)

On 22nd June 2012, at a press conference held at the Archbishop’s Palace, Namirembe, the Rt. Rev. Nicodemus Okille, Dean of the Church of the Province of Uganda, announced that the Rt. Rev. Stanley Ntagali was elected the 8th Archbishop of the Church of Uganda. The election was held during a meeting of the House of Bishops on Friday, 22nd June, 2012, at St. Paul’s Cathedral, Namirembe.

The election was by secret ballot and was presided over by the Provincial Chancellor. Bishop Ntagali was elected with more than a two-thirds majority, per the Constitution of the Church of Uganda.

Bishop Ntagali was consecrated Bishop on 19th December 2004 and has served as the Bishop of Masindi-Kitara Diocese for eight years.

Born in Ndorwa County in Kabale District in 1955, he shifted with his family to Wambabya Parish in Kizirifumbi Sub-county in Hoima District when he was 16 years old. On Christmas Eve 1974, at the age of 19, he accepted Jesus Christ as his personal Lord and Saviour and was born again.

He began working as a teacher in Wambabya Primary School, and later spent two years as a missionary in Karamoja Diocese.  He did his theological training at Bishop Tucker Theological College, St. Paul’s Theological College, Limuru, Kenya, and the Oxford Centre for Mission Studies in the UK.

After serving as a missionary in Karamoja Diocese, he served the remainder of his priestly ministry in various capacities in Bunyoro-Kitara Diocese until 2002, when he was appointed Provincial Secretary.

As a Bishop, Bishop Ntagali has represented the Archbishop in international meetings, served as the Chair of the Church House Board, and led the committee that designed guidelines for retiring Bishops.

Bishop Ntagali is married to Beatrice and they have five children.

On 8th January 2012 Archbishop Henry Orombi announced his intention to retire after nine years of service to continue a ministry of preaching, which has been his passion. He said, “I want to devote the rest of my life, while I am still able, to fulfilling this calling full-time.”

Archbishop Henry Luke Orombi has served as the 7th Archbishop of the Church of Uganda. Elected in July 2003, he was installed as Archbishop on 25th January 2004 at St. Paul’s Cathedral, Namirembe. He has served with distinction for nine years; consecrated 25 new Bishops and launched four new Dioceses. It is under his leadership that construction has begun on Church House, and his successor will dedicate it next year, God willing.

To be eligible to be an Archbishop, one must already be serving as a Bishop in the Church of Uganda, and must be at least 50 years old. Out of the 35 Bishops currently active in the Church of Uganda, 29 were eligible to become Archbishop.

The installation of the new Archbishop is expected to take place on 16th December at St. Paul’s Cathedral, Namirembe. At that time, Archbishop Henry Orombi will hand over the pastoral staff to Archbishop-elect Stanley Ntagali who will then be invested with the authority to lead the Church of Uganda as Archbishop. The Presiding Bishop at the enthronement will be the Dean of the Province, who is the longest serving Bishop in the Church at that time.

Between now and December, Archbishop Henry Orombi will continue to do the work of the Archbishop and the Bishop of Kampala Diocese, as well as bid farewell to each of the 34 Dioceses. 

The Archbishop-elect will say farewell to his Diocese and prepare to move to Kampala. His current Diocese will elect a new Bishop, since he will leave his Diocese to also become the Bishop of Kampala Diocese.

The previous Archbishops of the Church of Uganda have been the following:

1.     Archbishop Leslie Brown, a British missionary, was the first Archbishop of Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire (1961-1966)

2.      Archbishop Erica Sabiti (1966 – 1974)

3.     Archbishop Janani Luwum (1974 – 1977). Martyred in 1977.

4.     Archbishop Silvanus Wani (1977 – 1983). In 1980, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire became a separate, Francophone Province, and Uganda became its own Province.

5.     Archbishop Yona Okoth (1983 – 1995)

6.     Archbishop Livingstone Mpalanyi-Nkoyoyo (1995 – 2004)

7.     Archbishop Henry Luke Orombi (2004 - 2012)


The Rt. Rev. Nicodemus Okille




22nd June 2012

Contact: Rev. Canon George Bagamuhunda

Provincial Secretary, Church of Uganda

+256 772 450 019

0 Responses. Comments closed for this entry.